Newly Casted On: Two Color Brioche Shawl

I have officially been bitten by the brioche-bug! After successfully finishing a hat, I decided that I would try a two-color project. I decided on the Marley shawl by Andrea Mowry (who I happen to be pretty obsessed with; her patterns are gorgeous). It took a few tries for me to get the increases right, and early on, I made some mistakes that I decided I couldn’t live with, so I ripped out a few times. Now, I am starting to get the flow a little more, and I am happy with how it is working up. There is one area where I contemplated tinking back, but the mistake is high up in the shawl, so it’ll be pretty bunched up once it is on, and it is only noticeable from one side. It is bothering me a tad, but I am using it as an opportunity for growth. In all, working with two colors is far simpler than I thought it would be. I am working with KnitPicks Palette yarn, which is an inexpensive 100% wool fingering weight yarn.

If you are looking to explore brioche more, take a look at Craftsy; I found the class I signed up for to be really helpful for both the two and single-color techniques. Most people mention the class by Nancy Merchant, but I actually preferred the look of the projects offered with this class a little more.

Does anyone else have any favorite brioche projects or resources for knitting in brioche?

Craftsy

2 thoughts on “Newly Casted On: Two Color Brioche Shawl

Leave a Reply

