New Year, New Craft

Happy New Year! 

My holiday season was calm and quiet – just the way I like it! I hope all of you reading this had your holidays turned out the way you like them. 

With the new year, I welcomed an Ashford rigid heddle loom to my arsenal of fiber/crafty tools. It received it a few days after Christmas, and then there was the staining/drying/assembly time. I warped the loom and started weaving last night. I can think of no better way to start 2017 than with a beginner’s mind. 

When I was looking for some beginner patterns, I was surprised to see that there are relatively few resources out there (especially when you consider knitting and how much is available on Ravelry). I was happy to find a book published by Interweave on scarves. 

I’ve stocked up on yarn, and I’m ready to weave! 

4 thoughts on “New Year, New Craft

  1. I’m all for a new craft and beginning new on things. That’s awesome can’t wait to see what you’re working on or made/make. May inspire me to venture out

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s lolling
    Lovely, I have a rigid heddle and there’s a lot of YouTube videos about using the pick up sticks to create patterns in the weaving, basically your manually picking up the warp instead of the treadles on a floor loom. Lots of patterns using this method. There’s also clasp weaving like they do on the Saori looms. 👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

