Reflecting: 2016 Knitting/Making Goals

At the beginning of the year, I set out some knitting and making goals for this year. I thought it might be fun to look back and see how I did. Here were the goals:

  • Knitting a sweater for my husband
  • Knitting a pullover for Little One
  • Knitting more sweaters, shawls and hats for me!
  • Spinning some natural colored fiber and experimenting with natural dyes (from plants around our property) – eventually I hope to put some of this in my Etsy shop
  • Spinning alpaca, and some other fiber types
  • Repurposing the yarn from a thifted sweater
  • Sewing functional, well-fitting garments for Little One
  • Repurposing fabrics from old garments to make new ones

 

I managed to knit a sweater for my husband. I knit the Slade sweater, which is a Brooklyn Tweed pattern. I was happy with the result, but I’m not sure that I love seamed sweaters.

I didn’t get a pullover knitted for Little One. She and I have talked sweaters, so I think one will be happening early in 2017. I’m thinking the Harvest Cardigan by Tin Can Knits.

This was a great year for knitting. I finished a lot of projects and have really enjoyed the items I’ve knitted. I found a lot of inspiration in the podcasts I’ve been listening to. My commute, which includes a ferry wait on most days, has also ensured that I have at least a little time for knitting each day. I have a few sweaters that still need to make their way off the needles and some big shawls that I’ve started, so I’ll have some good FOs to start 2017 with too.

This was also a great year for spinning. I have played with a lot of different fibers, including alpaca and a bamboo/merino blend, among the wool types. I’ve also ventured into working with both natural dyes and acid dyes. I just recently got a new wheel that is much more versatile, so I anticipate doing a lot more spinning and dyeing in the coming year as well.

I took a class on repurposing sweaters in November. Since then, I’ve found a few thrifted sweaters. I have deconstructed one and knitted several hats from the yarn so far. I think this will be something that I’ll definitely continue into next year.

On my final two goals: my sewing did not really take off this year. I had a few minor successes, but I am still trying to figure out how to better fit sewing into my routine.

I think the biggest development was a surprise one that I did not expect. I have had the great fortune of beginning to sell some knitted items at a local shop. That development has led to some great connections with other local makers. The end of 2016 has left me feelings of great promise for the coming year.

I hope everyone had a productive 2016. I’m looking forward to continuing making in the coming year and seeing what others are exploring as well.

One thought on “Reflecting: 2016 Knitting/Making Goals

Leave a Reply

