Adventures in raw fleece

A friend of mine offered me two fleeces from one of her friends. I gleefully accepted, of course! Since I intend to bring a few sheep onto our property eventually, I figured there is no time like the present to learn some of the basics of working with an processing a raw fleece. 

Here’s what it looked like out of the bag:


This fleece wasn’t raised with the intentions of someone spinning it, so it was pretty dirty. I picked through the nasty bits. Then I decided to wash up a little bit. 


It cleaned up pretty well. I let it dry out in the sun. 

I carded it with my new hand carders and made my first few rolags. 


After that, I spun some up, of course. 

I am pretty pleased with how it spun up. YouTube and Google searches were pretty handy during the process. I have a lot more to work through, but I think it is going to be a fun journey. 

Leave a Reply

