A very yarn-y Mothers’ Day

Today marks my second Mothers’ Day without my mom. People say that it gets easier with time, but I’m finding that my grief is changing rather than really lessening. She was diagnosed with brain cancer several months before my first Mothers’ Day as a mom, so I feel like I never really got to celebrate motherhood with her without the shadow of her illness hanging over us. We had a number of celebrations after her diagnosis, but we were always haunted by the thought it was her last. She was never big on the holiday, but not having my mom here makes the day take on new meaning. 

My husband and daughter, like they did last year, did a nice job of marking the day. We went out for breakfast and ran a few errands. I also got to spend the day immersed in some yarn and fiber-related projects. 

First, I dyed a skein of my handspun yarn! I used the Greener Shades dyes that I had bought a few months ago. The fiber was just some Knit Picks roving that I had spun up.  I am pretty pleased with how it came out. 

I also casted on for the Featherweight Cardigan. I am using some Quince & Co. Finch. 

Over the weekend, my dye garden has also really taken shape. I excitedly planted some seeds today. Fingers crossed that my seeds grow into beautiful flowers that I can dye yarn with! 

Leave a Reply

