Local Fiber 

  
When we moved out to Whidbey Island, we quickly discovered it is somewhat of a fiber haven. There are quite a few sheep and alpaca farmers on the island, and there’s even a fiber mill here on the south end. As we begin to research potential fiber animals for our own homestead, I am trying to reach out to some of the local resources. I want to try some of the fiber and see what breeds are successful out here. As an introvert, it is hard! I prefer email, but I am realizing most farmers are a little more old fashioned and prefer the phone. 

I was lucky to get a response from a local woman who has a flock of Shetland sheep. We went out to her farm on Saturday, and I got some glorious roving from her. In a few weeks, she is shearing, so I thought it a good idea to work with some of her roving and then talk to her about buying a fleece or two. She was a great resource, and I am so excited about learning more about what is available out here. 

Leave a Reply

