Hat from Handspun! 

I finished my first hat made from my handspun yarn! It is so gratifying to go from roving to a finished, wearable product. Since I still consider myself to be a beginning spinner, I tend to choose a project for my yarn after I’ve finished it. 

This fiber was some that I got in Port Townsend at Bizaare Girls Yarn Shop. It is BFL and Polwarth (from what I recall). It is a 2-ply yarn. Eventually, I want to start making more 3 and 4-ply yarns, but I’m a bit limited in the bobbins that I have. It came out to be a worsted weight yarn. I got a handy wraps per inch (wpi) tool from Knit Picks, and it has been helpful in using some of my handspun and determining what needles to start with. I used the Craft Sessions’ Simple Hat Pattern as a guide. It fits great, and it is super soft. 

The singles   
Plyed

  
Washed and in a skein


On the needles 
    
Done! 

   

3 thoughts on “Hat from Handspun! 

Leave a Reply

