Slow Fashion October Week 5: KNOWN

It is hard to believe that the month of October is just about over. This month has flown by. Admittedly, I am not quite ready to say goodbye to this month. There are a whole host of reasons that I am not ready, but I think the perhaps the biggest reason is that I am not quite ready to enter into our first holiday season since my mom died. Her birthday just passed, so she has been weighing heavily on my mind. This does tie into slow fashion a little because I really started to knit much more as my mom’s health deteriorated. It was something that I could do while I was in the airport or simply sitting by her bead side. Oddly, it is something that now, even though my mother never knit, makes me feel connected to her.

As I started knitting more, particularly over the last year, I rediscovered my love for the wool-y wools, and hence, I discovered some local yarn shops that are close to paradise. There are some AMAZING producers of yarn in my area and where I’m from in California. In the PNW and in northern California, local movements have really taken off, so I am fortunate to live in an area where I have a lot of options available to me.

Some of my new favorites (among many others) have become:

Just over this past weekend, I also discovered a yarn that is milled very near where I live on Whidbey Island, so of course, I had to pick some up. (Abundant Earth Fiber). In the spring, prior to moving to Whidbey, we were able to visit a woman who raises alpaca and spins their fiber. There are also several other producers of yarn and fiber on the island whose yarns and roving I am just itching to try.

IMG_0890

IMG_0623

IMG_0071

I find that sustainable fabrics, where you can trace their origins, much more challenging to find. So, if anyone knows of any good sources for fabric with sustainable practices, I’d love to know of them. Sewing is one area where I hope to improve my skills, but also become more knowledgable about how to make it sustainable as well.

Leave a Reply

