Slow Fashion October – Week 2: Small

Here for week two of Slow Fashion October!

The theme for this week is SMALL.

As I mentioned in my post last week, we recently moved. We actually moved from a house that was about 1,000 square feet, to one that is a hair over 2,000. Our new house actually has a garage and a little cottage on the property as well. Despite the upsize in house and space, we actually did a lot of downsizing of furniture that had been bothering us (we’re moving on from IKEA), and we all went through our wardrobes in preparation for the move as well. This move has really inspired our little family to live more consciously. As I went through my wardrobe, I finally allowed myself to let go of and donate some of the items that I kept from before my pregnancy that I was so convinced that I would fit back into some day. I realized that even if I could fit back into a lot of those clothes, they weren’t really clothes that fit with my overall comfort level anymore; I had kept them on principle. I also put someΒ shirts that were looking a little worse for wear into the repurpose pile. I am a big fan of repurposing shirts into skirts for my daughter.

IMG_1263

As I think about adding more handmade items into my wardrobe, I’ve tried to be much more thoughtful about adding pieces that will fit into my everyday wardrobe. I want to be careful that I am not making stuff for the purpose of making more stuff – I want the items to be functional. I always get tempted to make dresses or more high fashion looking items, but when I think about what I am most comfortable in, it comes down to jeans and a sweater or jeans, a cardigan, and a shirt. So, I am trying to add more pieces that fit into those categories. I am getting a lot of use out of the Audrey Cardigan, which I made at the beginning of the summer. I am also excited to wear my Lila Sweater and my Antrorse Sweater as the weather starts to cool.

IMG_1172-1

I am a girl who likes her basics, through and through. When I buy clothes, which is rarely because my husband tends to buy them for me, we buy from a company called Threads for Thought. They are transparent with their business practices and aim for sustainability, so we feel good buying from them. They also offer really good wardrobe staples that are very comfortable.

Leave a Reply

