Garter Stitch 

When I first learned to knit, I didn’t have much appreciation for the beauty of garter stitch. It seemed to me that to be a “real knitter,” I needed to learn to do the complicated projects. Now, it seems, that garter stitch is making a real comeback. There is real beauty in it’s simplicity. 

Here are some of favorite finds/knits that incorporate garter stitch: 

Cirriform by Lisa Mutch of Northbound Knitting. I knit this up in Little Brother by YOTH.  

 
Laurel Cowl by Carrie Bostick Hoge. This is actually one of my current WiPs

  
Here’s a hat I made/designed with a garter stitch band. Ridges Hat

  
I also have the Charlotte Cardigan on my list of upcoming projects. 

What are your feelings on garter stitch? Love it, or leave it? 

5 thoughts on “Garter Stitch 

Leave a Reply

