Shopping for a spinning wheel

I am so excited that I am going to be taking a spinning class! It seems to be in the natural progression in my knitting journey, especially now that I am so much more interested in getting more connected with natural fibers and the animals that yarn comes from. I’m a little conflicted as to whether I should rent for the class or buy a wheel prior so I can learn on the one I’ll be spinning on. The other day, my husband generously offered to take me to Weaving Works, so I could take a look at a few in person. I could not be more pleased with their service! A very nice employee pulled out numerous wheels for me to look at and try. She was very knowledgeable (and patient with my 4 year old who had loads of questions, which earned more bonus points). I did my best to avoid shopping for other items (namely yarn and patterns) since I’m currently in the mode of needing to decrease my stash-size. Nonetheless, I did poke around a little, and I noticed a nice yarn selection.

I am leaning toward an Ashford wheel. Wondering what other spinners have and use. Pearls of wisdom would be appreciated!

3 thoughts on “Shopping for a spinning wheel

  1. When I took my spinning class we got to try out different wheels, and at the end of that experience I had a better idea of what I wanted in a wheel. I ended up getting a Schacht Matchless with double treadles. It has been 20 years and I still love it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

