Yarn Shop

One of my favorite activities when I’m on a trip is to go to at least one local yarn shop. Last week, we were in San Jose, California visiting family. I Googled to search for a local shop. I was surprised to find relatively few shops comparatively; Seattle and Portland have TONS. Perhaps with warmer weather, Californians just aren’t that into knitting…

I settled on going to Green Planet Yarn (http://www.greenplanetyarn.com). It was a spacious shop, which was nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I liked that the yarns were sorted according to weight. They also had a nice section of non-animal fibers. In terms of selection, it was good, but I didn’t find anything that I hadn’t seen before. I suspect, that unlike Seattle and Portland, very urban shops don’t and/or can’t select yarns from more local, small fiber sources. Overall, though, it would definitely be a store to visit if you need a fiber-fill while you are in San Jose.

Leave a Reply

