Why I knit

 

 

Since this is my first post on this blog, I thought it would be good to start with how I got started knitting and why I do it.

I have very fond memories of my grandma making me things (she was more of a crochet lady though). Unfortunately, she passed away when I was a bit young, and I couldn’t learn from her. When I came across the craft center at the University of Oregon, I immediately jumped on taking a class. My first project was a hat for my boyfriend (who is now my husband, and I’m pretty sure knitting had something to do with that). I was addicted after that.

I’ve kept going (despite many failed projects) because I haven’t found a better way of relaxing or getting my mind off the big things in life. The happiness it brings others is always fun too. My husband and daughter are always happy recipients. I’ve also always enjoyed the moments when strangers have complimented something I’ve made, and I’ve been able to tell them I made it.

I leave you tonight with my first knitting book, a picture of a sweater I just finished, and probably my favorite thing that I’ve knitted for myself.

imageimage

image

 

Leave a Reply

